Lawmaker Raymond Wong Yuk-man has been charged with common assault for throwing a glass at Chief Executive Leung Chun-ying at the Legislative Council in July 2014.

Wong—nicknamed “Mad Dog”—announced on Facebook on Monday that he was asked to go to the Central Police Station at 5pm the following day. He said on Tuesday that he has been charged.

Raymond Wong threw glass at Leung Chun-ying.

Before his arrest, Wong said in front of the Central Police Station to reporters: “Leung Chun-ying picked up a piece of shattered glass on the floor and accused me of assaulting him. Who did I assault? He loves to fight with people and thinks he is Mao Zedong.”

He added: “This will be funny. If this goes to court, he may be summoned as a witness, and then we can argue in court.”

Wong threw a glass at Leung on July 3 last year during a questions-and-answers session at LegCo.

After Leung entered the chamber, Wong repeatedly threw papers at the Chief Executive, despite security guards’ efforts in stopping him. Wong then hurled a glass towards Leung’s direction.

The Office of the Chief Executive alerted the police following the incident.

The day after the incident, Wong said that he had planned to throw water, but the glass “slipped” out of his hand, reported Apple Daily. He surrendered himself to the police the same day.

He was then released unconditionally on August 11. He said that the police could not identify who he was assaulting, but added that he may be arrested again if there were new developments in the investigation, according to local media.

Raymond “Mad Dog” Wong Yuk-man was first elected as a LegCo member in 2008. He was a founding member of political parties People Power and the League of Social Democrats, both of which he has left.

Kris Cheng

Kris Cheng is a Hong Kong journalist with an interest in local politics. His work has been featured in Washington Post, Public Radio International, Hong Kong Economic Times and others. He has a BSSc in Sociology from the Chinese University of Hong Kong. Kris is HKFP's Editorial Director.