Sixteen more district councillors who are not from the pro-establishment camp face disqualification after the government expressed “doubts” over the validity of their oaths of allegiance and demanded more information from them.

The group were among 50 councillors from districts in the New Territories who swore their oaths of allegiance to the government during the third round of mandatory oaths taken on Monday.

Photo: GovHK.

The latest batch of councillors who risk being ousted include one of the 47 democrats facing subversion charges, Ricky Or, and councillor Isaac Lee, who was arrested last December over a peaceful but unauthorised assembly at the Chinese University of Hong Kong’s campus.

In recent weeks, all 17 district councillors who had been required to provide “more information” owing to “doubts” over the validity of their oaths were later disqualified from office.

Councillors whose oaths were accepted – click to view

North District Council

  1. Mr Lee Koon-hung
  2. Mr Li Kwok-fung
  3. Mr Hau Chi-keung
  4. Ms Chan Yuet-ming
  5. Mr Chow Kam-ho
  6. Mr Cheung Chun-wai
  7. Mr Wan Wo-tat, Warwick
  8. Mr Hau Fuk-tat, Simon
  9. Mr Ko Wai-kei
  10. Mr Law Ting-tak

Tai Po District Council

  1. Mr Li Yiu-ban
  2. Mr Lam Yick-kuen
  3. Mr Au Chun-ho
  4. Mr Ho Wai-lam
  5. Mr Mo Ka-chun, Patrick
  6. Mr Lau Yung-wai
  7. Mr Tam Yi-pui

Sai Kung District Council

  1. Mr Wong Shui-sang
  2. Mr Lau Kai-hong
  3. Mr Cheung Chin-pang
  4. Mr Choi Ming-hei
  5. Mr Chan Yiu-chor, Andrew
  6. Mr Chau Yin-ming, Francis
  7. Ms Fong Kwok-shan, Christine
  8. Mr Cheung Mei-hung

Sha Tin District Council

  1. Mr Mok Kam-kwai
  2. Mr Wai Hing-cheung
  3. Mr Chow Hiu-laam, Felix
  4. Mr Hui Lap-san
  5. Mr Chung Lai-him
  6. Mr Mak Yun-pui
  7. Mr Sin Cheuk-nam
  8. Mr Cheng Chung-hang
  9. Dr Lam Kong-kwan

Two councillors from the four neighbourhoods did not take their oaths on Monday. Herman Yiu Kwan-ho is serving a three month sentence behind bars for unauthorised assembly, while Wong Hoi-ying requested other arrangements.

Councillors who were requested to “provide more information” – click to view

Tai Po District Council

  1. Mr Chan Chun-chit, Richard
  2. Ms Chan Wai-ka, Olive
  3. Mr So Tat-leung

Sai Kung District Council

  1. Mr Lee Yin-ho, Ryan
  2. Mr Lee Ka-yui
  3. Mr Or Yiu-lam, Ricky
  4. Ms Wong Cheuk-nga

Sha Tin District Council

  1. Mr Li Chi-wang
  2. Mr Shek William
  3. Mr Lai Tsz-yan
  4. Mr Lo Tak-ming
  5. Mr Wong Ho-fung
  6. Mr Ng Kam-hung
  7. Ms Ng Ting-lam, Kudama
  8. Mr Wong Hok-lai
  9. Mr Cheng Tsuk-man

The government introduced mandatory oaths of allegiances for the city’s local-level councillors earlier this year, after requiring all civil servants to take the same pledge shortly after Beijing’s passing of the national security law last summer.

The introduction of the oaths, and the ensuing rumours that salary and benefits would be recouped from certain councillors who faced disqualification, prompted over 200 to resign ahead of the ceremonies.

‘No real power’

The city’s leader Carrie Lam said the government will consider a way forward after the oath-taking arrangements are complete, depending on whether the councils will still be functional “in a fair and efficient manner” after the wave of resignations and disqualifications.

The current term for district councils ends in two years. They were overwhelmingly held by democrats following their sweeping November 2019 election victory.

Lam added that the district councils served as advisory bodies and did not possess any powers to decide on the allocation of public funds under the Basic Law.

Chief Executive Carrie Lam
Chief Executive Carrie Lam. File Photo: Candice Chau/HKFP.

The district council race was the only fully democratic election in the city.

They were seen as the opposition’s last political foothold after lawmakers stepped down from the legislature last year in protest over the disqualification of four of their colleagues.

Correction 10/10: A previous version of this article incorrectly stated that 100 councillors had previously resigned – in fact, over 200 quit ahead of the oath-taking.

Support HKFP  |  Policies & Ethics  |  Error/typo?  |  Contact Us  |  Newsletter  | Transparency & Annual Report | Apps

legal precedents hong kong
security law transformed hong kong
contact hkfp

Rhoda Kwan is HKFP's Assistant Editor. She has previously written for TimeOut Hong Kong and worked at Meanjin, a literary journal. She holds a double bachelor’s degree in Law and Literature from the University of Hong Kong.