Vocal critics of the pro-democracy Occupy movement have been elected as Hong Kong’s representatives in China’s top legislature despite the pro-democracy camp’s efforts to push them out.

The elections for Hong Kong deputies to the National People’s Congress took place on Tuesday morning. 36 representatives were chosen by around 1,989 voters in Hong Kong.

Around 300 of the voters are part of pro-democracy camp. Each voter selects 36 people out of 49. The camp produced a list of recommended candidates in order to divert votes from “unwanted” candidates.

npc deputies

Occupy critics lawyer Maggie Chan, activist Stanley Ng and businessman Peter Wong still won seats despite being on the “unwanted” list. But Wong obtained the least number of votes out of the 36 elected candidates.

Pro-Beijing heavyweights Tam Yiu-chung and Cheng Yiu-tong also won despite being on the unwanted list.

However, former Law Society of Hong Kong president Ambrose Lam, also one of the pro-democracy camp’s undesirables, was unable to secure a seat.

Wong Kwan-yu, the former president of the Hong Kong Federation of Education Workers, also failed to win a seat. It was the first time that the Federation has not had a representative since 1998.

Executive Council convenor Bernard Chan – who has served on China’s top legislature since 2008 – received the most votes out of all Hong Kong candidates with 1693 votes.

bernard chan
Bernard Chan. File Photo: In-Media.

All other incumbent deputies – including Executive Councillor Ip Kwok-him, pro-Beijing lawmakers Ng Leung-Sing and Ma Fung-kwok – who took part in the elections were successfully re-elected, with the exception of “patriotic singer” Cheung Ming-man of the Hong Kong Chinese Importers’ and Exporters’ Association, who lost with 522 votes.

Pro-Beijing businessman “Dream Bear” Lew Mon-hung, pro-democracy candidates Roger Wong Hoi-fung and Henry Lim were also unsuccessful in their bids.

There are 11 new deputies, including Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing board member Vincent Lee, former head of Constitutional and Mainland Affairs Bureau Raymond Tam, Tam Yiu-chung and Maggie Chan.

At the elections on Tuesday. Photo: RTHK screenshot.

Last week, Civic Party lawmaker Kwok Ka-ki and nine others were disqualified from running in the election.

Additional reporting: Kris Cheng

Karen is a journalist and writer covering politics and legal affairs in Hong Kong for HKFP. She has also written features on human rights, public space, regional legal developments, social and grassroots activism, and arts & culture. She is a BA and LLB graduate from the University of Hong Kong.