Former TVB chief Norman Leung Nai-pang has been officially appointed as the chairman of the Chinese University of Hong Kong Council. The council nominated him for the post in early April and Chief Executive Leung Chun-ying approved the nomination on Friday.

Norman Leung is currently a member of the CUHK Council, having been nominated by the Chief Executive last June. He will serve as council chairman for a term of three years starting May 1.

norman leung
Norman Leung. File Photo: Stand News.

Earlier, Leung denied rumours that he was “pro-chief-executive”, and told reporters that he “definitely” supports academic freedom and institutional autonomy. However, the CUHK Student Union said Leung did not clarify his position on the matter of whether the Chief Executive should be the chancellor of all Hong Kong universities.

See also: CY ally Arthur Li appointed HKU Council chairman amid strong opposition

Secretary for Education Eddie Ng Hak-kim said, “Dr Leung is a prominent community leader who has all along been committed to public service. Having served in positions including Chairman of the Council of the City University of Hong Kong and member of the University Grants Committee, he has a wealth of experience in the education sector.”

CUHK. File Photo: Wikicommons.

“Dr. Leung has made exemplary contributions to the Hong Kong community and is widely recognised for his vision and distinguished leadership. I am confident that he will lead the CUHK to pursue excellence and scale new heights.”

Ng also acknowledged the work of former CUHK Council chair Vincent Cheng Hoi-Chuen and said that he contributed to the sustainable development of the university. Cheng’s term ended last October and the position has been vacant since then.

Karen cheung hong kong

Karen is a journalist and writer covering politics and legal affairs in Hong Kong for HKFP. She has also written features on human rights, public space, regional legal developments, social and grassroots activism, and arts & culture. She is a BA and LLB graduate from the University of Hong Kong.