Candidates for the New Territories East by-election were campaigning all around the district on Sunday. The by-election was triggered by the resignation of former Civic Party lawmaker Ronny Tong Ka-wah last year. Voters have been casting their ballots as several famous faces and public figures came out to lend their support.

Holden Chow Ho-ding, DAB

Chow represents the pro-establishment Democratic Alliance for the Betterment and Progress of Hong Kong. Should he win, the DAB may be able to change the rules in the legislature to prevent future filibustering. Among his supporters spotted on Sunday were:

Holden Chow Ho-ding with Elizabeth Quat Pui-fan. Photo: Holden Chow via Facebook.
  • Jasper Tsang Yok-sing, Legislative Council president and founder of DAB.
  • Starry Lee, Legislative Council member and DAB chairwoman.
  • Ann Chiang Lai-wan, Ip Kwok-him, Tam Yiu-Chung, Elizabeth Quat Pui-fan, and Chris Chung Shu-kun, all Legislative Council members and members of DAB.
  • Regina Ip Lau Suk-yee, Legislative Council member and member of New People’s Party.
  • Jeffrey Lam Kin-fung, Legislative Council member and vice president of the pro-business Business and Professionals Alliance for Hong Kong.
Edward Leung Tin-kei, Hong Kong Indigenous

Leung runs as a representative of Hong Kong Indigenous, a localist group that promotes the expansion of Hong Kong’s autonomy and independence. Well-known figures who campaigned with him on by-election day included:

Raymond Wong Yuk-man campaigning for Leung Tin-kei. Photo: InMedia.
  • Raymond Wong Yuk-man, Legislative Council member.
  • Szetosifu, a YouTube personality who makes political videos.
  • Chin Wan, a Hong Kong scholar advocating localism.
  • Wong Yeung-tat and Cheng Chung-tai, leaders of localist group Civic Passion.
  • Baggio Leung and Yau Wai-ching from Youngspiration, an “Umbrella Soldier” political party.
Alvin Yeung Ngok-kiu, Civic Party

Yeung ran as a representative of the pro-democracy Civic Party. Polls this week suggest a two-horse race between Yeung and the DAB’s Chow. His supporters on Sunday included:

Alvin Yeung, Martin Lee and Oscar Lai. Photo: InMedia.
  • Oscar Lai, previously of Scholarism, a student activist group.
  • Martin Lee, lawyer, political activist and former Legislative Council member.
  • Cyd Ho Sau-lan, Fernando Cheung Chiu-hung, and Lee Cheuk-yan, all Legislative Council members and vice-chairmen and representatives of the pro-democracy Labour Party.
  • Alan Leong Kah-kit, Claudia Mo Man-ching and Kenneth Chan Ka-lok, Legislative Council members and members of the Civic Party.
  • Tanya Chan Suk-Chong and Audrey Eu Yuet-mee, members of the Civic Party and former Legislative Council members.
  • Gary Fan Kwok-wai, Legislative Council member and member of pro-democracy Neo Democrats.
  • James To Kun-sun, and Helena Wong Pik-wan, Legislative Council members and members of the pro-democracy Democratic Party.
  • Alex Chow, and Lester Shum, social activists and formerly the secretary-general and vice secretary-general of Hong Kong Federation of Students respectively, a student organisation which took part in the pro-Democracy Occupy Movement in 2014.
  • Leung Kwok-hung, Legislative Council member and member of the centre left social democratic political party League of Social Democrats.

See also: Candidates urge citizens to vote amid low turnout at New Territories East by-election

There are seven candidates running in total. Aside from Yeung, Chow, and Leung, there is also Third Side’s Nelson Wong Sing-chi, nonpartisan Lau Chi-Shing, independent Christine Fong Kwok-shan as well as independent Albert Leung Sze-ho.

Chantal Yuen

Chantal Yuen is a Hong Kong journalist interested in issues dealing with religion and immigration. She majored in German and minored in Middle Eastern studies at Princeton University.